• Upcoming Events

  • New Members

  • 2017 Neighborhood Leadership Awards

    • Share:
    December 04, 2017
    The City of Peoria will honor the 2017 Neighborhood Leadership Awards recipients at the City Council Meeting on Tuesday, December 12, 2017. These awards pay tribute to contributions by local leaders and businesses who work hard to uplift neighborhoods and improve our community.

    This year’s winners include:
    Mayor’s Award: Willa Lucas
    A person whose efforts over a number of years has resulted in a positive change physically or socially in the quality of life in their neighborhood and the city.

    Ted Bannon “Brick” Award: Todd Davis
    A person who engages civic leaders (i.e., City Council, business and community stakeholders) in the completion of specific neighborhood improvement projects.

    Richard “Fuzzy” Lenz Award: Jessie McGowan
    A behind-the-scenes person who personally assists neighbors with no expectation of recognition or reward.

    Business Award: Headz Up Barber Shop
    A business that has demonstrated a commitment to improving the community.

    Pride in Peoria Award: Lueshand Nunn & James Bryson
    Individuals, groups, or organizations that have made a significant contribution to improve the Peoria environment.

    Youth Award: Anthony Foster
    Presented to a youth under the age of 18 who has worked with adults and peers toward improving their community.

    Grass Roots Award: Girls Light Our Way
    Individuals, groups, or organizations that have created an organic movement to positively effect change in the community.

    A public reception to recognize and celebrate these neighborhood advocates and leaders will be held at 5:00 p.m. in City Hall prior to the City Council meeting.

    For more information on this event, please contact Assistant Community Development Director Joe Dulin at 309.494-8631.